In 1985, the Coteaux du Languedoc Appellation moved up to become an Appellation d’Origine Controlée.

The Languedoc appellation was recognized by decree on 30 April 2007*. The AOC Languedoc was formed by increasing the size of the Coteaux du Languedoc zone to encompass all the vineyards of Languedoc AOC appellations in an area stretching from the Spanish border to the gateway of Nîmes.

* Decree published in the official journal of 3 May 2007.

  • AOC Languedoc

    Why was the AOC Languedoc created?

    The aim is to ensure the appellation becomes a major factor in creating a more dynamic sector. It must also make it easier for the consumer to understand what is on offer. Equally, it must allow a wine wholesaler who wishes to produce appellation wines to blend them freely from any appellation wines within the AOC Languedoc area. Finally, the appellation plays an indispensable role in the organisation of other appellations and viticultural products within the Languedoc.

    What are its ambitions?

    On the economic front, its aim is to be the leading AOC in one of the world’s largest vineyards, which stretches from the Spanish border to the gateway of Nîmes. A true economic lung of AOC production in the Languedoc-Roussillon, it helps viticultural businesses build true commercial dynamism.
    As for commercial objectives, in the medium term it will allow producers to take part in the unchallengeable evolution of markets at the heart of ranges and brands which make up 90% of world wine sales.
    From the marketing point of view, in the medium term, this AOC wishes to become a reference point as much in terms of reputation as of quality.
  • History of the Syndicate

    In 1945, the first Vins De Qualité Supérieure (VDQS) appeared thanks to the efforts of Philippe Lamour and Jules Milhau.

    From  1945 to 1960, many wines achieved VDQS status :  the current 12 terroirs as well as Faugères and Saint-Chinian.  In parallel,the Clairette du Languedoc was awarded AOC status in 1948, one of the first. in the region.

    In 1960 Jules Milhau, Gilbert Senès et Philippe Lamour tried to bring all the region’s VDQS together under the Coteaux du Languedoc appellation, but only the current Coteaux group (12 terroirs, Faugères and St Chinian) agreed.

    The  Coteaux du Languedoc decree published 16 December 1960 (49 communes).  Since then, boundary extensions mean that various neighbouring communes have joined it..

    For several years, the work consisted of moving individual production techniques forward so as to ensure they conformed to a future Appellation Controlée decree in such a way as to avoid any breakup of the group when the AOC came into being. Early on an overall reorganization took place in June 1980 merging basic VSQS regulations with those of the Coteaux du Languedoc.

    In 1982, Faugères and Saint-Chinian joined the 'AOC, then on 24 December 1985 the Coteaux du Languedoc.

    In 1985, (24 December), the Coteaux du Languedoc appellation was recognized as AOC.

    In 1988, it became possible to produce AOC white wines throughout the Appellation (hitherto this had been restricted to La Clape and Picpoul de Pinet).

    In 2007, The Languedoc appellation was confirmed by the decree of 30 April. It was the result of the increased size of the Coteaux du Languedoc; thus the AOC Languedoc now stretched from the Spanish border to the outskirts of NÎmes and includes vineyards in the whole Languedoc appellation controlee area


    * Decree published in the official journal of 3 May 2007.

  • Developing hierarchies

    At the side of  Faugères, Saint-Chinian and the  Clairette du Languedoc, work to develop hierarchies got under way throughout all the sectors so as to underline their specificities.

    Nearby  Picpoul de Pinet which obviously has its own specific production (single grape), five sectors have been  recognized independently within the Coteaux du Languedoc decree in that the producers  have fixed their own, more restrictive, production conditions.


    They are :

    • Pic Saint Loup (October 1994),
    • La Clape (April 1998),
    • Grés de Montpellier (March 2003),
    • Terrasses du Larzac (February  2005) and
    • Pézenas (April  2007)